Leave a Message

Thank you for your message. We will be in touch with you shortly.


8 Important Real Estate Disclosures

Real estate transactions involve a variety of legal and ethical considerations, and one crucial aspect is the disclosure of information that may affect the value or desirability of a property. While disclosure requirements can vary by jurisdiction, here are eight important real estate disclosures that are commonly required in many places:

  1. Lead-Based Paint Disclosure:

    • Sellers of homes built before 1978 in the United States are generally required to provide information about lead-based paint hazards. Buyers must receive a federal pamphlet about lead-based paint risks and have the opportunity to conduct a lead inspection.
  2. Mold Disclosure:

    • Some jurisdictions require disclosure of mold-related issues in a property. This is especially important if there has been a history of water damage or if the property is located in an area prone to high humidity.
  3. Property Condition Disclosure:

    • Sellers are often required to disclose the current condition of various components of the property, including the roof, foundation, plumbing, electrical systems, and other major features. This disclosure helps buyers make informed decisions.
  4. Environmental Hazards Disclosure:

    • Sellers may need to disclose information about environmental hazards such as the presence of hazardous materials, contamination, or other potential risks. This could include information about underground storage tanks, asbestos, or other environmental concerns.
  5. Homeowners Association (HOA) Disclosure:

    • If a property is part of a homeowners association, sellers typically need to disclose this information. This disclosure includes details about the association's rules, fees, and any pending special assessments.
  6. Natural Hazard Disclosure:

    • Properties located in areas prone to natural disasters like earthquakes, floods, wildfires, or hurricanes may require disclosure of these risks. This information helps buyers understand the potential hazards associated with the property.
  7. Zoning and Permitting Disclosure:

    • Sellers may be required to disclose information about the property's zoning classification and whether there are any open permits or code violations. This information is crucial for buyers planning renovations or other changes to the property.
  8. Property History Disclosure:

    • Sellers may need to disclose any significant events or issues related to the property's history. This could include previous damage, repairs, or other incidents that may impact the property's value or safety.

It's important to note that the specific disclosures required can vary by location, and local real estate laws and regulations should be consulted to ensure compliance. Additionally, real estate professionals, such as real estate agents and attorneys, play a key role in guiding buyers and sellers through the disclosure process.

Work With Us

Pen Realty greets clients with a devotion to seamless home sales and a professional promise to buy or list with expert confidence.

Contact Us